• /wp-content/uploads/2011/02/eg_header1.png
  • /wp-content/uploads/2011/02/eg_header2.png
  • /wp-content/uploads/2011/02/eg_header3.png
  • /wp-content/uploads/2011/02/eg_header4.png

Mobility and Transparency Tools

EURES provides information, advice and recruitment/placement (job-matching) services for the benefit of workers and employers as well as any citizen wishing to benefit from the principle of the free movement of persons. EURES has a human network of more than 700 EURES advisers that are in daily contact with jobseeker and employers across Europe. The joint resources of the EURES member and partner organisations provide a solid basis for the EURES network to offer high quality services for both workers and employers.

Eurodesk is a European network of information services in 27 countries providing a unique access to European information for young people and those who work with them. In each participating country, the Eurodesk national partners are national bodies working in the youth field (non-governmental organisations, or organisations supported by a Ministry), which have been selected by the relevant ministry in each country, to deliver Eurodesk services. The national partners are responsible for promoting and delivering European information services to the public. The Eurodesk service has to be adapted to fit in to the situation in each participating country. Different countries provide the Eurodesk service in different ways.

Europe Direct is a network that gives:

  • General information about EU matters in any of the official EU languages;
  • An answer to your questions on any European Union policy; Practical information on dozens of subjects: for example, how to get your qualifications recognised or how to complain about unsafe products;
  • Contact details of relevant organisations you may need to deal with;
  • Advice to help you overcome practical problems with exercising your rights in Europe.

Euraxess – the European Network of Mobility Centres is a Europe-wide service providing mobile researchers and their families with customised assistance in all matters relating to their mobility experience. Through portal three main types of information are available: fellowships/grants; research job vacancies and practical information. This portal allows mobile researchers to post their CVs free of charge.

Europass is designed to encourage mobility and lifelong learning in an enlarged Europe. It aims to help three million citizens make their qualifications and skills easily understood throughout Europe by 2010. Europass brings together into a single framework several existing tools for the transparency of diplomas, certificates and competences. Helping citizens to better communicate and present their qualifications and skills throughout Europe, Europass will promote both occupational mobility, between countries as well as across sectors, and mobility for learning purposes.

National Reference Points for Vocational Qualifications. In every country (European Union and European Economic Area ), a National Reference Point gives access to information on vocational qualifications. All National Reference Points are part of a network. Main functions:

  • serve as a first point of contact for questions relating to national qualifications, certificates and Certificate Supplements;
  • provide access to relevant information or serve as a point of contact with national bodies which hold the information;
  • act as a national partner in the European network of National Reference Points.

ENIC-NARIC– the European Council and UNESCO network ENIC (European Network of National Information Centres on Academic Recognition and Mobility) and the European Union network NARIC (National Academic Recognition Information Centres) are international networks created for facilitating the true and fair recognition of education obtained abroad and for promoting academic and professional mobilit

European Credit and Accumulation Transfer System (ECTS) is a system developed in the framework of the Erasmus program. It is based on a common scoring system, called ECTS credits, where a university credit is equivalent to 1 ECTS credit. Today ECTS is to support the crediting even beyond the Erasmus program.

The European Qualifications Framework for lifelong learning (EQF) aligns national certification systems and facilitate communication between them. It consists of eight levels of reference which cover all levels of certification acquired in general education, vocational education and training and higher education and is based on the results of learning (knowledge, abilities and skills). Easier comparison, transferability and understanding of certification will take place through using the same tool.

European Accumulation and Transfer Credit System for Vocational Education and Training (ECVET), is a system for transferring, recognising and capitalising upon the knowledge acquired through learning: knowledge, abilities and skills (ECVET), through European learning credits for vocational training and education. Acquired learning units corresponding to a certain number of credits are awarded for qualifications gained in European countries.

Eurydice is an institutional network for gathering, monitoring, processing and circulating reliable and readily comparable information on education systems and policies throughout Europe. Eurydice covers the education systems of the Member States of the European Union, the three countries of the European Free Trade Association which are members of the European Economic Area, and the EU candidate countries involved in the EU Action Programme in the field of Lifelong Learning. Eurydice provides an online encyclopedia on education systems called Europedia.